Mica Scheme Approved

Apply For Mica Redress scheme

Crack on a wall of an old building

What is the Mica Redress Scheme?

Commonly known as the Defective Concrete Blocks Grant Scheme, the Mica Redress Scheme exists to help homeowners with remedial work to their primary private residence which has been damaged as a result of defective concrete blocks.

Who is eligible for the scheme?

Those eligible for the scheme include homeowners whose homes have been heavily damaged due to faulty concrete blocks. Usually, these blocks have high quantities of pyrite/mica in them. To be eligible, the residence has to be the individual’s primary private residence. Therefore, an owner can apply for one dwelling under this grant.

The process of the Mica Redress Scheme

Stage 1

Confirmation of Your Eligibility

To apply, you as the homeowner must submit an online form for Stage 1 approval to Donegal County Council (DCC). In order to provide proof of the damage, this form must be followed with an engineer’s report (IS465 Registered engineer).

Stage 2

Grant Approved

A Stage 2 online application must be completed by the homeowner before any work is carried out. For this application, a contractor has to include the approximate costs of the project. If this meets the DCC’s satisfaction, they will confirm the maximum grant amount authorised.

Stage 3

Payment of Grant

At this point, payment of the grant must be made by the homeowner once the work has been certified and completed. They can make full or partial payments online via Stage 3 of the application.

Apply for the grant

You can start the application process right away if your home has been damaged by clicking the button below. Feel free to reach out to us if you have any questions about the application process.

Scroll to Top